Daily Archives: March 29, 2010

Carrot Care

I don’t claim to have green fingers, and I am least confident in a kitchen. But then I chanced upon a carrot sprouting tiny shoots. I thought, why not give it a chance? I was also curious to see how carrot leaves appear!

This is how carrot leaves look

As a kid, watching plants sprout from apparently dead-looking seeds would leave me awestruck. At times it was an onion sprouting roots and slender long shoots atop a beer bottle, or a small row of peas with tiny broomsticks stuck in the soil as supports for the tender tendrils. Growing carrots, though, is something I am trying for the first time.

The progress is that the carrot shoot has sprouted a few leaves and looks quite pretty in the little pot I found for it. Wish me luck!

Carrots, Onions, Potatoes - all can be grown!