Sightseeing in Singapore

The school was sending me for some official work to Singapore. The plan was to get there by 9:00 am, finish the paper work and then I had the whole day till my flight at 6:00 in the evening. Unfortunately, I was on a shoestring budget hence could not venture far! But the sights of Singapore in a 3 km radius were enough to remain etched in my mind forever.

Let me take you for the tour of the 6 hours I was in Singapore!

Here is the first sight straight from the taxi…

IMG_0477

And this one is a kind of message to one of my students…. (Stephen, I hope you are proud)

IMG_0486

Singapore, a city run by prefects quipped a comedian once… I vouch that he could not have said it better!

IMG_0528

singapore square

The red dot building – museum to all things traffic!

IMG_0621

After the ‘official work’ was over, I was on my own, and found my way to Chinatown! Was hesitant to shoot in the streets at first, but when I saw so many people trigger happy, I was at my camera best!

IMG_0487

IMG_0503

IMG_0509

IMG_0536

IMG_0563-2

Chinatown

IMG_0519

IMG_0552

IMG_0539

The multidude of fridge magnets to choose from (I brought quite a few  too …)

IMG_0551

IMG_0547

Found a shop in Chinatown entirely dedicated to Tintin memorablia! IMG_0549

This one is for Dad… that is supposed to be the world’s largest coin…

IMG_0557

India is everywhere…

IMG_0598

IMG_0533

And now for those bizarre signs in a bustling city

IMG_0678

IMG_0672

IMG_0588

Spent my evening at this plaza dedicated to the national flower of Singapore… the Vanda ‘Miss Joaquim’

orchid pano

and captured some things familiar…

IMG_0689

Here is the Vanda ‘Miss Joaquim’ against a backdrop of the magnificent Carlton

IMG_0655

I could spend a day photographing the artwork along the streets.

Beginning with this bronze structure of the Vanda

IMG_0648

This very abstract piece which describes itself as ‘Reaching’ symbolising the infinite possiblities of growth, the shores are limitless…

IMG_0627

Or this one which had no description in sight…

IMG_0636

And this is something I could not help shooting… Singapore is a car/bike lover’s paradise!

IMG_0643

IMG_0641

Spent some time in the quiet shade of a botanical garden…

forest garden pano

and there it was time to count the cents remaining…. a reminder that I had to head home 😉

IMG_0618

Singapore airport…

IMG_0697

Well, I wished this would be my ride

IMG_0710

… but instead had to be content with this one!

IMG_0749


































4 responses to “Sightseeing in Singapore

  1. I’m originally from Singapore and I don’t remember it ever being so colourful. Thank you for making it so beautiful! Feeling proud and homesick now.

  2. Awesome Photography Jovi…

  3. great narrative! (as usual :-p )
    and yes, the cars and bikes there are awesome. feels like you’ve stepped into a NFS city.

Leave a comment