Supermoon Saturday

The moon on the night of March 19, 2011 was different because it was 356577 km from the earth, one of the closest approaches in the past 18 years… and it gets the label… Supermoon (or scientifically speaking, a lunar perigree)! Going with all the hype created by the media I had to witness this first hand!

supermoon saturday - Dona Paula

The most convenient location that came to mind was the Dona Paula jetty. Good thing I went out here, because at “moon rise”, the moon actually took on a reddish hue…

Supermoon saturday Red Moon

I could not resist taking this night panorama (click on it for a better view)

supermoon saturday pano

But then as it goes with every spectacular “breaking news” everything went back to normal, there were no high tides in the sea, no other celestial phenomenon and the biggest news discussed next was how India crushed West Indies to enter the World cup semi final!

6 responses to “Supermoon Saturday

  1. Is that reddish tinge due to post-processing or is it the original??
    If latter, then I’m J because here we couldn’t see it with that tinge!! šŸ˜¦
    One before when I saw it like that, it was huge and beautiful, alas then I didn’t have camera on me…..

    • Hard to believe that it is not post processed right!!!? Its SOOC… no Photoshop this time šŸ˜‰

      • Hah! with you I have to ask about photoshopping….with me, well I don’t do it (yet)!

        What’s SOOC?

        However I can believe that you saw the reddish tinge, I have seen it before -like I said- as its absolutely beautiful! šŸ™‚

      • nvm, got it!!

  2. great colour šŸ˜€ Managed to get some supermoon pics from Faye’s place, now if only Faby will download the photos from their camera! šŸ™‚

  3. Loved the ‘Dona-paula jetty’ one!!!

Leave a Reply

