Tourist in my own land

How does it feel to be a tourist in your hometown? To be herded around and explained your own cultural roots? To be taken for a fool as to the prices of taxis and food?

Everytime I saw those long queues of tourists lined up for their dose of the boat cruise, I would loathe the fact that tourism is the backbone of the Goan economy!

And then I decided, let’s become a tourist for a day! A first hand experience! I wanted the experience and even paid for it and went to a place which i have always avoided… the cruise on the river Mandovi.

City Cruise

Dont be misled by this pic… it is NOT a serene sunset. I just signed off from the noisy city (Patto bridge) and signed up for even more noise…

This is NOT the boat we took!

I just didn’t choose the veteran Santa Monica, because in case of an eventuality, I can’t really boast of being a good swimmer! Princessa de Goa, was the unanimous choice.

Trigger happy

The moment the boat sets off everyone… yes, everyone begins totting a camera/ handycam/ cell phone around.

Dhinch Dhinch Dhinch

The DJ tries in vain to attract the tourists with a well-worn collection of the “latest” noise…

Glimpses of Goan Culture

Let me give you a little background info here. The cruise is meant to give tourists a glimpse into of the goan culture, and a ‘glimpse’ is all you get… 4 miserly dances… with atrocious commentaries convincing you that kunbi is a dance (historians, beware! the cruise is not meant for you!)

A word of advice. If you want to enjoy the cruise, look the other way! So while the real tourists made fools of themselves on the stage i turned my chair to face the wake of the boat and enjoyed the scenery floating by…

Look the other way

There is always one thing I have wondered… Among all my “tourist friends” who have visited Goa sometime or the other, not a single one mentioned the cruise as one of their memorable times in Goa…

2 responses to “Tourist in my own land

  1. TBH, the first time i went for the cruise, it was far from what i expected, with the music way up high, and all the ‘high’ passengers ‘joining in the festivities’ and the dancers looking pretty bored / uninterested in what they were doing. the DJ / MC was over enthu too…

    that being said, the ‘cruise’ if you can tune out the loud music is a very nice one and you are probably better off taking in the colours of the sunset on the river or taking in the lights of panjim and the other places along the river banks. wonder if any of the cruises will ever start one of those type of cruises 🙂

  2. Interesting….I was on that cruise….maybe the Santa Monica, but was a kid then! So do not remember much.

    Though I do recollect some people dancing…..and well I think I had fun because I was enjoying jumping about in my pedal-pushers or mini-dungrees (whatever they were called), and hat and being with my family…I just don’t remember if my aunts n uncles were there!! ……….. Calls for photos check once in India

Leave a Reply

